Bird Set Free: One Month Later

“I don’t care if I sing off key, I find myself in my melodies, I sing for love, I sing for me, I’ll shout it out like a bird set free.” -Sia

It’s been a month since my mother passed away, since this 21 (almost 22) year old had to grow up quite a bit. Although it’s been in little ways, it’s still been a process.

In this process, I’ve realized that my own family do not have my best interest in mind, after all.

Why do I say that? They wanted me to plead that I am incompetent.

Yes, you read that right. INCOMPETENT!!!

My family is convinced that because I have high-functioning Asperger’s and because I have Bipolar II disorder, I am incompetent.

How does this make me feel…?

This is the main question that I’ve gotten.

Plain and simple: I’m…fucking…pissed.

My mother happened to do a lot to shelter me as much as she could be I was her “special” child. My mother wanted me to have a safe place so to speak, someone to help provide for me, and someone to be there to support me.

My mother did me a disservice.

My mother should not have done this for me.

My mother should have let me grow up.

I love my mother with every fiber of my being, but I’ve learned to do SO MANY THINGS since her passing.

For example, I drove through downtown Houston to meet with a lawyer. Most 21-year-olds don’t have a reason to drive that far. Do they? Sure! That doesn’t mean they have a reason.

I’m learning to take care of myself.

Just because I need a place to stay, doesn’t mean I can’t drive, cook, clean up after myself, go to school, get a job, and LEARN!

That’s what life is! A LEARNING PROCESS!!

I can do this, I will do this, and I will show every person who thinks I cannot.

I AM A BIRD SET FREE.

Leave a Reply

